Go Back

Publishing & debugging

January 29, 2018

What is Preview & debug mode?

Opening a website in debug mode causes loading your tags setup from current snapshot (see Changelog section) even if it wasn’t published before. After turning off debug mode (“x” button at the top right corner of the screen) you will receive setup with last published snapshot.

Turn on debug mode

  1. Log in to your Piwik Pro Marketing Suite application.
  2. Go to Tag Manager section – click “Tag manager” link in top bar menu.
  3. Choose proper website from dropdown menu.
  4. Click on “Debug” button in top bar of Piwik Pro Marketing Suite. It will open your website in preview and debug mode.There is also another way to turn on website’s debug mode. You can add ?_stg_debug parameter at the end of your URL.

PLEASE NOTE: You can copy the URL of your website which was opened in preview and debug mode, and use it on any other device, e.g. on your smartphone.

Use Breakpoints in the Debug mode

To facilitate and improve process of debugging your tags, Piwik Pro Tag Manager provide a functionality to use breakpoints for your tags. Breakpoints are one of the options of Piwik Pro Tag Manager debugger. We can find them on the bottom of debugger. With breakpoints you can disable any action that result in page reloading.

EXAMPLE: You can use it for checking which tags were fired during form submission. Reloading page will be stopped until you turn off the Breakpoints option.

Publish a Website (tags setup)

Piwik PRO Marketing Suite is based on one publication mechanism. In other words, publishing changes in any part of the stack results in publishing changes from all of the applications (Tag Manager, Content Personalization, Data Manager etc.).

Every time a website is added, it is in “Publish” state and it includes basic Piwik Pro Analytics tag with Page View trigger – fired on each page view. Please note that the tag won’t be added it you don’t have active Piwik Pro Analytics license.

All new changes within the the Website won’t go live until the Website is published manually. In order to publish your Website’s changes, please follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your Piwik Pro Marketing Suite application.
  2. Choose proper website from dropdown menu.
  3. Click the “Publish” button (located in the navigation bar at the top of the application).
  4. Confirm action.

PLEASE NOTE: Any change won’t be published until you’ve published the Website again.

If you make any changes in a Website after publishing it, the status will change to “Draft” again.