Add a group

Administration

Needed permissions: owner

If you use Piwik PRO with many teammates, you can create groups and manage their permissions in a bundle. In this article, we’ll show you how to use groups and set permissions.

Before you start

Here are some things to know before you begin working with groups:

  • You can set permissions for each teammate or for groups.
  • When your teammate has individual permissions and group permissions set, the higher one is granted.
  • After deleting a group, members will lose assigned permissions. But they still have permissions assigned individually or in another group.

Add a group

To add a group, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Menu > Administration.
  2. Navigate to Groups.
  3. Click Add a group.
  4. Name the group.
  5. Click Add user to group.
  6. On the email list, mark teammates you want to add to the group.
    User groups in Piwik PRO
  7. Click an arrow to add your teammates.
    User groups in Piwik PRO
  8. When done, click OK.
  9. You’ll see your teammates on the member list.
    User groups in Piwik PRO
  10. Navigate to Permissions and grant permissions for a site or app.
    User groups in Piwik PRO

    Note: To grant permissions to meta sites, go to Menu > Administration > Meta sites & apps.

    Here’s a brief overview of all permissions:

    • Manage: The user can view and edit websites, view, edit, and publish tags, import and export audiences, manage permissions, and use Consent Manager. But they can’t add a website or a new user.
    • Edit & publish: The user can do the same actions as on the manage level, except they can’t manage permissions.
    • Edit: The user can view and edit websites, view and edit tags, import and export audiences and change general options. But they can’t publish a tag, manage permissions, and use Consent Manager.
    • View: The user can view websites, tags, and export audiences.
    • No access: The user doesn’t have access to anything.

    Tip: Read more about permissions for a site or app.

Revoke permission

To remove a member from a user group, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Menu > Administration.
  2. Navigate to Groups.
  3. On the right, pick a group you want to work with.
  4. Click X for the user you want to remove.
    User groups in Piwik PRO

Delete a user group

To remove a user group, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Menu > Administration.
  2. Navigate to Groups.
  3. On the right, pick a group you want to work with.
  4. Click Delete and confirm your decision.
    User groups in Piwik PRO

Check permissions granted for each site or app

To view the permissions, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Menu > Administration.
  2. Navigate to Sites & apps.
  3. On the left, pick a website or app you want to work with.
  4. Navigate to Permissions.
  5. View permissions for each user.
    User groups in Piwik PRO

In this view, you will see:

  • User permissions: individually set permission.
  • User group permissions: permission granted for a group that the user belongs to.
  • Effective permission: permission that is working for this user at the moment. 

Was this article helpful?

Technical support

If you still have some questions, visit our community.
There’s always someone ready to help!

Back to help center