Add a User Group

If you use Piwik PRO in a large company with many teammates, you can manage website permissions for a group of people, not for each person individually. For example, you may grant an edit & publish permission to the analytics team, edit permission to the marketing team, and view permission to the sales team. Or any other way you want to. In this article, we’ll show you how.

Before you start

Here are some things to know, before you begin working with user groups:

  • Only a person with the owner account level can manage user groups: create groups, add users, and grant permissions.
  • Permissions can be set individually for each website and each user, or for a group of users.
  • When a user has a different permission set individually and for a group, then the permission with higher access is granted. For example, a person has user permission to view and group permission to edit, so they will have edit permission.
  • When you delete a user group, all granted permissions for members of this group are revoked and they remain with permission assigned to them individually or in other group.

Add a user group

To add a user group, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Menu > Administration.
  2. Navigate to User groups.
  3. Click Add new user group.
  4. Name the group.
  5. Click Add user to group.
  6. On the email list, mark teammates you want to add to the group.
  7. Click an arrow to add your teammates.
  8. When done, click OK.
  9. You’ll see your teammates on the list of members.
  10. Navigate to Permissions.
  11. You’ll see the list of your websites and apps.
  12. By default, all websites and apps have no-access permission. Click the drop-down next to the website or app that you want to change permissions to, and pick the permission you want to grant to the group.
  13. Repeat the last step to change permissions for other websites and apps and you’re done.

Note: Currently, in this view you won’t find meta sites. To grant permissions for meta sites navigate to the meta site tab (Menu > Administration > Meta sites).

Once you’ve created the first group and assigned permissions, you can build more groups and manage them at any time.

Revoke permission

Anytime, a person with owner account level can remove a teammate from a group and revoke user’s permissions for websites and apps. When a user is removed from a group, they remain with permission assigned to them individually or in other group.

To remove a member from a user group, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Menu > Administration.
  2. Navigate to User groups.
  3. On the right, pick a group you want to work with.
  4. Click X for the user you want to remove.

Delete a user group

At any moment, a person with owner account level can delete a user group and revoke user’s permissions for websites and apps. When the group is deleted, users remain with permissions assigned to them individually or in other groups.

To remove a user group, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Menu > Administration.
  2. Navigate to User groups.
  3. On the right, pick a group you want to work with.
  4. Click Delete and confirm your decision.

Check permissions granted for each website

Whenever you want to see which permissions are assigned to a particular user and website, you can view it in Websites & apps.

To view the permissions, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Menu > Administration.
  2. Navigate to Websites & apps.
  3. On the left, pick a website or app you want to work with.
  4. Navigate to Permissions.
  5. View permissions for each user.

In this view, you will see:

  • User permissions: individually set permission.
  • User groups permissions: permission granted for a group that the user belongs to.
  • Effective permission: permission that is working for this user at the moment. 
Was this article helpful?

Be the first to rate this article.

Technical Support

If you have any questions, drop us a line at support_SPC@piwik_SPC.pro.

We’re happy to help!