About changelog in Tag Manager
Whenever tags, triggers and variables are added to the website, all changes or new items need to be published in order for them to run on the website. Tag Manager has a changelog feature, which enables you to save different combinations of tag, trigger and variable setups as snapshots. By looking at the changelog, you can see the changes made by your teammates.
For each snapshot you will see:
- What has been changed.
- Who made a change.
- When the change was made.
Each snapshot can be published multiple times, which means that user can publish an old snapshot to make it live. In addition to that, user can revert to any snapshot of his choice – as a result draft based on that snapshot will be created.
Create a snapshot
First snapshot is created and published automatically when you are creating a new website. This first snapshot includes Piwik Pro Analytics tag with a basic setup.
Any change in tags, triggers or variables will go into a draft and based on based on the draft you can create a new snapshot in two different ways:
- Automatically: After publishing current draft.
- Manually: Navigate to Tag Manager > Changelog and click Create new snapshot.
Snapshot created automatically
Each time user is publishing a website, a new snapshot is being created (automatically). This snapshot is marked as
Live. Whenever a publish action is performed, new version of snapshot is generated.
Note: Only users with publish permissions can perform such action.
In order to create snapshot automatically user has to follow these steps:
- Click Publish
- Click OK to confirm the publish action. After that your current draft will be published and a new snapshot will be saved automatically.
- The new snapshot is marked as
Live. User can continue making changes in the draft.
Understand order of snapshots
The easiest way to understand the system of numbering snapshots is by following the example below:
- First snapshot is being created automatically as
- If user publishes a website, a new snapshot will be saved automatically. It’s name will be:
- When user saves a snapshot manually:
- Saving a snapshot manually again results in:
- Clicking publish a website:
- After that we can revert to
Snapshot 2.0, and create a snapshot manually. It will result in creation of
- At this moment if we decide to publish
Snapshot 1.0no new snapshots would be created. In this case,
Snapshot 1.0would be labeled as