First snapshot (version: 1.0) is being created and published automatically when user is creating a new website. This first snapshot includes Piwik Pro Analytics tag with basic setup with “All page views” trigger.
Any change in tags, triggers or variables will go into a ‘Draft’ and based on it user is able to create a new snapshot in two different ways:
- Automatically: After publishing current draft.
- Manually: By clicking “Save a snapshot”
Auto create a snapshot after each “Publish” action
Each time user is publishing a website, a new snapshot is being created (automatically). This snapshot is marked as “Live”. Whenever “Publish” action is performed, new version of snapshot is generated (numbered with an integer number – e.g. 2.0).
PLEASE NOTE: Only users with “Publish” permissions can perform such action.
In order to create snapshot automatically user has to follow these steps:
- Click on ‘Publish‘ button;
- Click “OK” to confirm “Publish” action. After that your current ‘Draft’ will be published and a new snapshot will be saved automatically.
- The new snapshot is marked as “Live”. User can continue making changes in the ‘Draft’.
The easiest way to understand the system of numbering snapshots is by following the example below:
- First snapshot is being created automatically as “Snapshot 1.0”
- If user publishes a website, a new snapshot will be saved automatically. It’s name will be: “Snapshot 2.0”
- When user saves a snapshot manually: “Snapshot 2.1”.
- Saving a snapshot manually again results in: “Snapshot 2.2”
- Clicking “Publish” a website: “Snapshot 3.0”
- After that we can revert to “Snapshot 2.0”, and create a snapshot manually. It will result in creation of “Snapshot 3.1”
- At this moment if we decide to publish “Snapshot 1.0” no new snapshots would be created. In this case, “Snapshot 1.0” would be labeled as “Live”.